Board of Directors2017-11-28T15:20:23+00:00
Mr John Mackay - Independent Non‑Executive Chairman

Mr John Mackay – Independent Non‑Executive Chairman

Mr John Mackay is the Independent Non‑Executive Chairman of CommsChoice Group and has over 15 years’ experience as chairman and director of major listed and unlisted companies across the communications, utilities, health, construction and education sectors.

He was Chairman of SpeedCast International (SDA) when it listed in 2014 and continues in that role to date. John has overseen the growth of that company into an ASX200 entity, which has occurred largely as a result of that company having made around 15 acquisitions internationally.

John was responsible for the creation of ActewAGL, a highly successful joint‑venture supplier/retailer of electricity and gas in the Australian Capital Territory and southern New South Wales. He also played a leading role in the creation of TransACT Communications Pty Ltd, a broadband fibre cable company established in the ACT; and he chaired Neighbourhood Cable, a small listed communications company operating in regional Victoria. Both of these companies are now part of iiNet.

John has served as Chancellor of the University of Canberra and holds a Bachelor of Arts (Administration) / Economics from that University as well as an Honorary Doctorate. He has also been chairman/director of several charitable, arts and sporting organisations. He currently chairs the National Arboretum Canberra Foundation and is a director of Energy Action (EAX).

John was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia in 2004, and named Canberra Citizen of the Year in 2008.

Mr Peter McGrath – Independent Non‑Executive Director

Mr Peter McGrath – Independent Non‑Executive Director

Mr Peter McGrath is an Independent Non‑Executive Director of CommsChoice Group.
Peter’s business career spans 30 years in telecommunications, ICT and corporate advisory, with over 15 years in senior leadership positions.

Peter was CEO of the Nextgen Group (Nextgen Networks, Metronode & Infoplex) as well as Managing Director of Leighton Contractors Telecommunications Division and Managing Director of Visionstream for 8 years. Under Peter’s leadership, the businesses all grew to become leading players in the Australian marketplace. Prior to this, Peter was Chief Executive Officer of publicly listed Uecomm and earlier Chief Operating Officer of leading commercial ISP:

Peter also has extensive experience in equity capital markets and corporate finance with ANZ Securities and UBS Warburg and has served on a number of boards over his career.

Peter holds a Bachelor of Engineering Degree (RMIT) as well as an MBA from Melbourne Business School. Peter is currently the Chairman of 3C Enterprise Holdings Ltd.

Mr Cameron Petricevic – Non‑Executive Director

Mr Cameron Petricevic – Non‑Executive Director

Mr Cameron Petricevic is a Non‑Executive Director of CommsChoice Group.

Cameron has spent almost 15 years in the financial industry beginning his career with roles at AXA Asia Pacific Holdings (now AMP) from 2004 covering valuations, investments, auditing and corporate finance. He later managed a team within the mergers and acquisitions function, with roles across Asia Pacific, and later led the Hedging Operations team for the group.

Cameron later spent almost 5 years at Acorn Capital as portfolio manager across private and public investments for the Telecommunications, Information Technology, Materials (ex‑Resources) and Industrials sectors.

Cameron joined Kentgrove Capital in late 2015 as a Partner and Portfolio Manager focusing on investments and equity capital markets transactions.

Cameron is a qualified Actuary (AIAA) and holds a Bachelor of Commerce
(Actuarial) and a Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) from the University of Melbourne, with First Class Honours.

He is also a Graduate and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and Founder/Treasurer of Brimbank ToRCH, a Royal Children’s Hospital auxiliary charity.

Mr Ben Jennings – Non‑Executive Director

Mr Ben Jennings – Non‑Executive Director

Mr Ben Jennings is a Non‑Executive Director of CommsChoice Group.

Ben has spent almost 18 years as an accountant working in both commercial and public practice roles in both Australia and the United Kingdom.

He established middle market advisory firm Jennings Partners Chartered Accountants in early 2009 to provide commercial advisory, mergers and acquisition, income taxation, and Finance Director/Chief Financial Officer services to SME businesses, venture capital and private equity groups. He is currently engaged in Non‑Executive Director roles for Helioscreen Australia Pty Limited, Web Profits Pty Limited, Marimekko Australia Pty Limited and Agility Finance Pty Limited.

Ben is a qualified Chartered Accountant from the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and New Zealand and holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) from Charles Sturt University.

Mr Stephen Bell – Non‑Executive Director

Mr Stephen Bell – Non‑Executive Director

Mr Stephen Bell is a Non‑Executive Director of CommsChoice Group.

Stephen Bell is a business executive and entrepreneur with over 20 years’ experience in the financial services industry. He has experience within the financial industry in the areas of software and business process efficiency.

He has owned and built several companies from start‑up phase, growing them into successful businesses to be acquired.
Stephen has extensive strategic and commercial experience in business analysis, strategy, sales and operations and currently sits on the board of three private companies including a financial services firm and a financial communications organisation.

Stephen holds a Bachelor of Science (Maths) from Queensland University of Technology and a Diploma in Financial Planning from Deakin University.

Stephen is the nominee of Brent O’Shaughnessy (the General Manager of the Business Division of CommsChoice Group and a Shareholder).

Mr Grant Ellison – Executive Director and Executive General Manager (Enterprise)

Mr Grant Ellison – Executive Director and Executive General Manager (Enterprise)

Mr Grant Ellison is an Executive Director of CommsChoice Group and the Executive General Manager – Enterprise Division. Grant founded the Service Provider, CommsChoice, in September 2008 and is the creator of its unique ICT methodology, Adaptive Connectivity as a Service.

Grant has global expertise in building virtual service providers in the ICT industry and has an exceptional track record in executive leadership, strategy and multinational business development.

Previously, Grant held key executive roles responsible for driving the international expansion at Vanco PLC, a global virtual network operator. Grant was instrumental in defining Vanco’s competitive advantage, leading its expansion from Western Europe into 166 countries and territories worldwide, and its successful listing on the main market of the London Stock Exchange in 2001.

Prior to that Grant built a successful career in corporate banking and strategy consulting in Australasia and Europe with Lloyds Banking Group and Orange Business Services.

Grant holds a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce (Finance) from Otago University in New Zealand and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) with over 10 years’ experience as a director of companies.